Pacific Islands Centre for Public Administration

The Federated States of Micronesia

micronesia flag   micr-MMAP-md

map source:

 The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) consists of 607 islands, of which 65 are inhabited, spread over an ocean area the size of Western Australia. The islands are in four main groups, which form the basis of FSM‘s four states: Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei and Kosrae. The capital, Palikir, is located on the island of Pohnpei. FSM has a population of 104,000.

Articles X and XII of the Constitution of the Federated States of Micronesia establish the structure and functions of the Executive Branch and set out the broad parameters for public financial management.   A number of national and state level laws have direct and indirect pertinence to public administration and financial management matters.

At the national level, there are eight executive departments and a number of national agencies and enterprises.  The eight departments include: Education, Finance and Administration, Foreign Affairs, Health and Social Affairs, Justice, Resources and Development, Transportation, Communication and Infrastructure and the Office of the Public Defender.  Most major governmental functions are carried out at the state level while national government is responsible for foreign affairs and overall coordination.

Chuuk has the largest civil service among the five governments, Pohnpei’s civil service is the second largest, followed by Yap, Kosrae and the national government.

The four states have a great deal of control over their internal governance, including the power to make external contracts.  State governments are also divided into executive, legislative and judicial branches.  State executive branches are headed by a Governor and a Lieutenant Governor elected by popular vote for four-year terms.

At the national level, civil service management responsibilities fall under the Department of Finance and Administration, and equivalent organizations handle civil service responsibilities in each state government.




© Pacific Islands Centre for Public Administration