Pacific Islands Centre for Public Administration


Flag NiueThe island of Niue is located in Polynesia, east of Tonga and northeast of New Zealansmall_map_niued.  Niue is a self-governing state in free association with New Zealand, an arrangement dating from October 1974.  Niueans are New Zealand citizens with the right of free access to New Zealand, where approximately 90 per cent of Niue’s population lives.  Niue’s resident population is about 1500.

A consolidation of all the laws of Niue was completed in 2006 with the publication of the Tau Fakatufono-Tohi A Niue.  This four volume set consolidated the amalgam of laws, many predating 1974.  Part four of the Constitution contains the laws covering the Niue Public Service and the Public Service Commission, which stipulate specific powers and instructions on public financial management and the public service management of the country.

Oversight of the thirteen public service portfolios are distributed amongst the four cabinet ministers. Each minister is responsible for a number of departments, and also oversee state corporations and agencies.  Department and agency heads through various line managers are responsible and accountable for daily affairs of their departments.  Approximately 27 per cent of the population of Niue are on the government payroll.

The Constitution charges the Public Service Commission (PSC) to be the sole employing authority of Niue’s public servants.  The PSC is responsible for providing general oversight and control of the public service recruitment, organization and management.  The secretary of government is the permanent head of the public service and the chief administrative officer of government.

Department heads are accountable to the secretary of government through their respective ministers.


© Pacific Islands Centre for Public Administration