Pacific Islands Centre for Public Administration


Nauru FlagNauru-tourist-Map-2



Nauru is an island republic in the Pacific Ocean, 42 kilometres south of the Equator and 4000 kilometres northeast of Sydney. A raised, fossilised coral atoll, Nauru is one of three great phosphate rock islands in the Pacific Ocean – the other two being Banaba (Ocean Island) in Kiribati and Makatea in French Polynesia. Nauru has a total land area of 21 square kilometres.

Nauru has a population of approximately 10,000 people, most of whom are indigenous Nauruans of predominantly Micronesian origin. Non-Nauruans are principally other Pacific Islanders, Chinese, Australian and Filipino expatriates.

Parts III, VI and VII of the Constitution articulate the basic framework for public financial management and public sector management vis-a-vis the executive branch of government and the civil service.  The key laws pertaining to public financial management include the Public Finance (Control and Management) Act, the Treasury Fund Protection Act, the Public Accounts Committee Act, the Audit Act and the Government Loans Act.

The Chief Secretary who is appointed by Cabinet is the highest ranking civil servant in Nauru.  The Chief Secretary’s Department is the Axis axle of the Nauru Public Service as it is responsible for the management of government ministries. This department is divided into six sections for its smooth operation. The Sections are Secretariat, Administration, Human Resources and Labour, Registry of Births, Deaths and Marriages, Warehouse and Post Office.  The Chief Secretary’s Department plays a vital role in monitoring, maintaining and supervising the Public Service Departments and its day to day activities and it also provides assistance to the Ministerial and President’s Office.  The Department is also responsible for introducing and implementing government policies arranging Cabinet Meetings and preparing documents for Cabinet and handling the General Election.

The Nauru civil service employs approximately 40 per cent of the formal workforce.


© Pacific Islands Centre for Public Administration