Pacific Islands Centre for Public Administration

The Region

The fourteen Pacific Island Countries (PIC), Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu,and Vanuatu, served by PICPA are diverse in terms of geographical location, population, history and development. The PIC have an estimated population as of mid-2011 of 9,151,490 and a total land area of 530,067sq km covering approximately 20 million sq. kms of ocean. The PIC have an estimated total number of 155,300 public servants tasked with providing services to this large area. In addition the PIC have a large number of recognised languages: Papua New Guinea has over 800; Solomon Islands has approximately 100 and Vanuatu has 120. Governance indicators suggest that the challenges faced by PIC are significant with perceptions of low levels of government effectiveness coupled with high levels of corruption. The indicators provide a strong rationale for supporting the strengthening of administrative governance.

Administrative Governance Issues

PIC, in general, demonstrate weaknesses in general administrative systems and processes which contribute to low effectiveness of government policies and processes. These become binding constraints on the achievement of their national development goals such as economic growth, as well as internationally agreed goals such as the Millennium Development Goals (MDG). In 2009 a survey of administrative capabilities of PIC solicited the following inputs by policy practitioners:



Leadership and Management


Other Factors

© Pacific Islands Centre for Public Administration